Women’s Automotive Association International Names 2014 Spirit Leadership Nominees


Women’s Automotive Association International has named its 2014 Spirit Leadership honorees. Among the four honorees is Christina Schrank.

Shrank is also the president of National Auto Care (NAC) — the administrator of the CarMark Certified program. NAC has been providing vehicle service agreement programs to the industry since 1984.

The WAAI award recognizes outstanding professional achievements and contributions to the growth, stature and progress of the automotive industry, the association explained.

Additional nominees included, Maureen LaFontaine, co-owned of LaFontaine Auto Group; Alison Spitzer, vice president of Spitzer Management; and Liz Wetzel, director of Buick intererio design, General Motor Global Design, and an Automotive Hall of Fame inductee.

“The women we’ve chosen to honor are noted not only for their extraordinary careers, but also as role models and mentors in the automotive industry and their community,” said Lorraine Schultz, WAAI founder and chief executive officer.  “They truly embody the spirit of leadership, and we are proud to recognize their accomplishments.”

The women will be honored at the 15th  Annual Spirit of Leadership Awards Reception on Saturday, Jan. 25 from 5-7 p.m. at the Saints and Sinners restaurant in New Orleans.

The reception will take place during the 2014 NADA Convention.

A portion of the event proceeds will be contributed to the WAAI International Scholarship Program, which provides tuition assistance to qualified students pursuing careers in the automotive industry, WAAI explained.

Today's top headlines