23 industry leaders named to 3 CFPB advisory boards


Three boards containing 23 industry leaders now have an advisory voice in how the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau operates.

Late last week, the bureau announced the appointment of new experts from outside the federal government to the Consumer Advisory Board, Community Bank Advisory Council and Credit Union Advisory Council. The regulator indicated the three advisory committees provide advice to bureau leadership on a broad range of consumer financial issues and emerging market trends.

“Today, I am appointing experts to the bureau’s advisory committees who will bring a fresh perspective to our important work,” CFPB acting director Mick Mulvaney said. “These experts are highly talented individuals in consumer finance markets, and we look forward to working closely with them throughout their service.”

The Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act charges the bureau with establishing a Consumer Advisory Board to advise and consult with the bureau’s director on a variety of consumer financial issues.

The bureau also created a Community Bank Advisory Council and a Credit Union Advisory Council. The Community Bank Advisory Council and Credit Union Advisory Council advise and consult with the bureau on consumer financial issues related to community banks and credit unions.

Back in March, the bureau issued a notice in the Federal Register, outlining the responsibilities of the advisory committees, as well as the duties of its members, and solicited applications for appointment.

The newly appointed members include experts in consumer protection, financial services, fintech, community development, fair lending, civil rights and consumer financial products and services as well as representatives of community banks and credit unions.

“Advisory committee membership reflects the expertise across the range of issues under the bureau’s jurisdiction,” the CFPB said.

New members to the Consumer Advisory Board, Community Bank Advisory Council and Credit Union Advisory Council will serve a one-year term.

Consumer Advisory Board Members

Liz Coyle, executive director, Georgia Watch
Sameh Elamawy, chief executive officer, Scratch Services
Manning Field, chief operating officer, Acorns
Jason Gross, chief executive officer, Petal
Clinton Gwin, president and CEO, Pathway Lending
Ronald Johnson, president, Clark Atlanta University
Brent Neiser, senior director of strategic programs and alliances, National Endowment for Financial Education
Sophie Raseman, director of product, Brightside
Luz Urrutia, CEO, Opportunity Fund

Community Bank Advisory Council Members
John Erik Beguin, founder, CEO, and President, Austin Capital Bank
Bryan Bruns, president & CEO, Lake Central Bank
Maureen Busch, vice president, compliance and CRA Officer, The Bank of Tampa
Michael Head, president/CEO/director, First Federal Savings Bank
Aubery Hulings, VP, operations manager, The Farmers National Bank of Emlenton
Heidi Sexton, EVP/chief operating officer, Sound Community Bank
Jeanni Stahl, SVP/chief risk and compliance officer, MetaBank

Credit Union Advisory Council Members
Arlene Babwah, VP risk management, Coastal Federal Credit Union
Sean Cahill, president & CEO, Southwest 66 Credit Union
Teresa Campbell, president & CEO, San Diego County Credit Union
Christopher Court, VP, accounting & operations, Service 1st Federal Credit Union
James Hunsanger, chief risk officer, Michigan State University Federal Credit Union
Bryan Price, president & CEO, Indiana University Credit Union
Eric Schmidt, president & CEO, WestStar Credit Union

More information on the Bureau’s advisory committees can be found at this website.