| -

DEARBORN, Mich. — Late last week, the Automotive Hall of Fame honored five industry executives with 2010 Distinguished Service Citations and announced its 2009 Industry Leader of the Year.

Among all the recipients, chief executive officers at two automakers were honored, as Hyundai Motor America president and CEO John Krafcik earned a Distinguished Service Citation and Ford chief Alan Mulally was named the Industry Leader of the Year.

Also receiving the Distinguished Service Citation were Timothy Manganello, chairman and CEO of BorgWarner; Rodney O'Neal, CEO and president of Delphi Corp.; Jack Roush, chairman of the board of Roush Enterprises; and Mary Ann Wright, vice president and managing director of Johnson Control's Business Accelerator for Advanced Energy Storage Solutions.

"To be included by the Automotive Hall of Fame with this distinguished class of leaders is an honor and it speaks to Hyundai's success not just in 2009, but over the past several years," Krafcik shared.

"This award represents the exceptional team at Hyundai Motor America, the support and success of Hyundai Motor Company and, of course, our outstanding lineup of great vehicles," he added.

Officials explained that the Distinguished Service Citation is given to leaders who have contributed in major ways to both the overall industry and to their organizations.

It has only been given to 431 industry executives since it began in 1940.

"The Distinguished Service Citation is aptly named, for it recognizes those leaders who have distinguished themselves for the outstanding service they provide to the motor vehicle industry and to their respective organizations," stated Jeffrey Leestma, president of the Automotive Hall of Fame.

"It's a rare honor indeed," he added. "In 70 years, just 431 industry executives have received Distinguished Service Citations."

Meanwhile, the Industry Leader of the Year award began and 1982 and honors one person for their "outstanding business leadership" during the last year.